Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
X

Welcome and Introduction from Audrey Wick

Audrey_Wick
Valued Contributor

Greetings, fellow educators!

I am a full-time English professor at Blinn College, a two-year college in Texas with four campuses and a combined enrollment of nearly 20,000 students.

I have taught

• Developmental Writing
  • Freshman Composition I
  • Freshman Composition II
  • Survey of British Liteature I
  • Survey of American Literature II
  • Pilates [yes, even a fitness course at the college level!]

I use The College Writer version of MindTap in my online Freshman Composition I course (that I teach every semester!) to help streamline learning for the students. It helps keep me and my students engaged.

To learn more about me, view

Anonymous
Not applicable

Welcome Audrey.  I saw that teaching writing is your focus (I'm a psych prof), so do you mind if I ask a question? I was talking with the founder of a company called "Asym" the other day.  They developed a method of presenting text to students that they think will improve literacy. What they do is analyze text (an article, a textbook, etc.) and then "chunk" the text - that is, they adjust the white spaces between the words so that words that frequently appear together are moved physically closer together. Wild idea, right? But the concept of "chunking" things in order to remember them better does have solid research support. You can click here to check out their webpage where they explain it in more detail.  

Any thoughts on what they're doing? I kinda like it but I don't teach writing so I'd love to get your opinion. Thanks!

Michael

Audrey_Wick
Valued Contributor

Hi, Michael. Thank you for the welcome message in regard to the new Cengage Higher Ed Faculty Community.