cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
X

Hello Faculty Partners!

Marcy_Krugel
Contributor

Hello to all!  My name is Marcy Krugel.  I am a senior instructor in the Business Communications Program within the College of Business at Florida Atlantic University in Southeast Florida. FAU’s COB hired me 31 years ago to create, implement, and direct its Graduate Business Communications Program. 

In 2013, the undergraduate business communication course moved from the English department within the College of Arts and Letters into our program.  At that time, I became a full-time instructor and assessment coordinator working to improve the writing, presenting, and interpersonal skills of our undergraduate business majors. I also work with our Accounting Scholars Program to reinforce writing and presenting skills throughout the honor’s compacts (extra writing and speaking assignments associated with the scholars’ regular accounting and tax courses).

As we all know, when students enter the workforce, they can’t just know (or even understand and integrate) the business communication concepts—they must demonstrate them!  I use the Aplia assignments (within Mindtap) to engage students in learning, understanding, and integrating the chapter concepts and grammar rules.  These assignments allow students to work at their own pace—to review and retest as necessary.  I often edit these assignments breaking them into self-checks and self-test segments or use assignment segments as strategic knowledge checks.  Since these assignments are auto graded, I can spend my time working with students on their actual skill demonstrations rather than on knowledge drills.