cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
X

Happy Friday, Faculty Partner Pals!

diane_carter
Contributor

Hello everyone, Diane Carter here. I am the public speaking course director at the Unversity of Idaho, which is is Moscow, Idaho (the other Moscow), where I also teach a variety of other communication courses. I've been teaching since 2001--I started teaching in Southern California at three community colleges--a true "freeway flier"--and then moved to the Pacific Northwest to complete my Ph.D. Before that, I worked for about 9-1/2 years for American Suzuki Motor Corporation, where my terminal position was Sports Promotions/Press Relations Department Manager for the Motorcycle Division. My PR and corporate background has given me some wonderful stories to tell in the classroom!

We use MindTap for all of our public speaking courses at the University of Idaho. Without going into too much detail, I'll just say that there are some great tools in MindTap that really help us maximize student learning. It's an awesome platform, which is why I am happy to be a faculty partner! We integrate MindTap into our instition's LMS with great results. 

When I'm not teaching...or grading...or answering emails, I enjoy playing piano, gardening, and playing with my three cats. I do a fair amount of traveling, too, in my role as a member of the Board of Directors of Comfort Foundation, a charitable foundation that supports orphans in Russia, where my two children are from. 

I'm looking forward to the opportunity to get to know all of you better in the coming weeks!

Diane

Reggie_Cobb
Frequent Commenter

Hi Diane,

Even though I teach online biology classes, I'm curious to know if your institution teaching public speaking online. If so, what tools/apps do you use within MindTap to make it successful?

Reggie

Marcy_Krugel
Contributor

Hi Diane,