How to Sign In
Computing Instructor Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
X

Using New Perspectives Microsoft Office 365 Office 2016 Introductory version text. Questions about this text, MindTap and SAM?

Highlighted
Karl
Frequent Commenter

I am using the New Perspectives Microsoft Office 365 Office 2016 Introductory version. My main focus is Excel but will cover modules in Word, Access, and Power Point. I am new to this course and unsure as to what assignments I should require my students to complete in each module. In MindTap, there are several type of assignments I can require:  SAM training, SAM exams and SAM Textbook Projects.  What has been your experience with these assignments? Do my students need to register for SAM if I assign these items?   I probably want to err on assigning too little as opposed to too much since they are also required to read  chapters from their MIS text.  

Another option would be to require my students to complete the case problems that are in the text. This is appealing since the case problems are labeled as apply, create, challenge, and troubleshoot.  However, all students would have the data files and I am concerned about students not doing their own work. If I assigned the case problems from the book is there an easy to determine if they have done their own work or not? 

It looks like if I assign the SAM Textbook projects each student would have their own data file but these projects are similar to the case problems in the text and they are not labeled as to the learning objective ( apply, create, challenge, and troubleshoot) as done in the textbook.  Therefore, I suspect the SAM Textbook projects aren't necessarily designed with this text in mind but to support all the Cengage computing textbooks.