How to Sign In
Computing Instructor Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
X

Do you teach Systems Analysis and Design? Let’s chat!

Highlighted
Cengage
Cengage

Hi everyone!

My name is Maria Garguilo and I’m a Learning Designer for the Advanced Computing Team, focused on the MIS discipline. Great to (virtually) meet you all!

As a Learning Designer, I conduct market research and work with our authors to ensure our course materials have pedagogically sound content that meets the needs of our instructors and students. A big part of what I do is chatting with instructors like you to understand what and how you teach!

For today’s post, I’d love to pose a few questions related to the Systems Analysis and Design course:

1. What types of UML modeling tools and/or CASE tools products do you use and cover in your courses?
  1. Are your courses more focused on the traditional Structured System Analysis and Design approach, or on an agile Object-Oriented Systems Analysis and Design approach? I’m interested to get your take on which approach is more important for today’s students to grasp, and which approach they’re most likely to face on the job – maybe it’s both!

Looking forward to your responses! Thank you!

Sandy_Keeter
Mentor

What types of UML modeling tools and/or CASE tools products do you use and cover in your courses?  

We do not use any specific tools.  Students will use Word, PowerPoint, or Visio to create their design diagrams.

Are your courses more focused on the traditional Structured System Analysis and Design approach, or on an agile Object-Oriented Systems Analysis and Design approach? 

The Cengage book we use by Tilley and Rosenblatt follows a traditional approach, but we have added agile processes to supplement the book.

I’m interested to get your take on which approach is more important for today’s students to grasp, and which approach they’re most likely to face on the job – maybe it’s both!”