Cengage Technology & Computing Blog
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sun Nov 19, 2017 | 05:53 PM
Another recent study on the use of passwords has identified a number of interesting facts about how passwords are reused...
0
8
0
Sat Nov 18, 2017 | 04:58 PM
Think for a moment about that password protecting your email account. Just how important is it? Most users would probabl...
0
9
0
Sun Nov 12, 2017 | 06:16 PM
For years there have been rumors back and forth about whether or not a commercial aircraft could be remotely hacked. Now...
0
53
1
Thu Nov 09, 2017 | 04:00 PM
Cybersecurity never ceases to amaze. Usually that amazement comes from attackers launching a new and creative attack. Bu...
1
25
0
Tue Oct 31, 2017 | 05:19 PM
Earlier this month (Oct 18 2017) researchers released information that a serious vulnerability in a Wi-Fi wireless secur...
0
32
0
Wed Oct 04, 2017 | 10:24 AM
It's 500 million. No, wait, it's 1 billion. Hold on, hold on, it's really 3 billion.   There's quite a difference b...
0
109
2
Tue Oct 03, 2017 | 11:19 AM
Apple recently (Sep 12 2017) announced its new line of phones. The new iPhone X ("ten") has an OLED screen, an additiona...
0
148
0
Wed Sep 27, 2017 | 02:22 PM
Apple recently (Sep 12 2017) announced the release of new hardware, most notably the Apple iPhone X. (Tech note: "iPhone...
0
65
0
Fri Sep 22, 2017 | 01:25 PM
"Mind-numbing" is defined as something so extreme or intense that it prevents normal thought. And that's the best way to...
0
104
0
Mon Sep 11, 2017 | 09:08 AM
Voice commands given to our smartphones and stand-alone devices are all the rage. Known as called "voice command devices...
1
197
1
Sat Aug 19, 2017 | 09:01 AM
Teller, of the famous magic duo Penn & Teller, recently wrote an article for the Wall Street Journal (Aug 5 2017). I...
1
127
1
Tue Aug 15, 2017 | 07:19 AM
In one of the most bizarre twists in the world of security, the security researcher who neutralized the ransomware known...
1
105
0
Sat Aug 05, 2017 | 03:56 PM
Recently I attended a conference about security. One of the speakers was giving steps for improving security. When he go...
2
429
2
Mon Jul 31, 2017 | 09:01 AM
 When I was young a summer tradition was to go outside at dusk and catch fireflies ("lightning bugs"). While some p...
0
297
0
Thu Jul 27, 2017 | 10:13 AM
Adobe Flash is a multimedia software platform that is used to create what are called rich Internet applications, or RIAs...
0
127
0
Wed Jul 19, 2017 | 06:38 AM
Biometrics is using a person’s unique physical characteristics of what he or she is. Standard biometrics can use the hum...
0
193
0
Mon Jul 10, 2017 | 09:38 AM
Philadelphia is the largest city in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. "Philly" is the economic and cultural centerpiece ...
0
134
0
Thu Jul 06, 2017 | 08:02 AM
Most users do not take seriously the need for protecting their privacy. A survey asked users if they would give up using...
0
101
0
Tue Jul 04, 2017 | 01:28 PM
A little background about AV software. A survey was conducted asking average computer users to rank the most important s...
0
113
0
Sun Jul 02, 2017 | 05:24 PM
When an attack is successful, the list of the costs is long. There's the cost of downtime: an organization may be unable...
0
68
0