cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
X
Unlimited Possibilities with Office 2019: Coming Soon
Valued Contributor
0 Comments

Unlimited Possibilities with Office 2019: Coming S...

office-2019-2-520x245.png

Recently, Microsoft announced the development of a brand-new Office suite, appropriately named Microsoft® Office 2019, which will be their last perpetual version of Office.  As an instructor myself at Central Virginia Community College, I look forward to being on the cutting-edge of technology to best prepare my students for their bright futures. So what should we all know to get ready?

What is a "perpetual" Office?

1. Microsoft categorizes software by how it is paid for, discriminating between a license that was bought outright from one that is essentially "rented" because it's paid for over time, like a subscription (Office 365). Office 2019 will be a perpetual version.
  2. Office 365 is now updated twice a year in March and September. The perpetual versions of Office are not updated except for security patches. 
  3. Though Microsoft has promoted their cloud services (Office 365) in recent years, the company has realized that not everybody is ready to move to the cloud and Office 2019 is built for such customers who prefer to keep their work offline although you can use OneDrive with this product. Microsoft® Office 2019 can be purchased for a single payment instead of monthly subscription payments.

So what's the timeline for the final release of the new perpetual copy of Office 2019?

• Microsoft pegged the launch of the suite for the second half of this year - 2018. 
  • Historically, Microsoft has released Office products in the month of September.
  • Microsoft will use the March feature upgrade for Office 365 ProPlus as the basis for Office 2019.

Will an Office 2019 Preview be released?

• Microsoft will release a preview of the Office 2019 suite during the summer of 2018.