Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
X
Connecting your Students with Virtualization Reality
Frequent Commenter
0 Comments

Greetings, 

My name is Ted Simpson, lead author of the second edition of our new Hands-on Virtual Computing textbook. I have been a Cengage author since 1991 when I wrote the first book in Course Technology’s new Networking Series, “Hands-on NetWare 3.12”.  The field has sure changed a lot since then, and changes are coming at us even faster today.

HandsOnVirtualComputing_textbook.png

Along with teaching Security and IT technologies such as operating systems, networking, database, and now the new field of virtual reality, I believe many IT students can increase their job opportunities by having a foundation in virtualization concepts and products. I like to call this foundation “Virtualization Reality”. The challenge is how to do this with the limited time we have in our curriculums.

First, I'd like to answer the question of why teach virtualization topics. I think most IT professionals will agree that over the past decade virtualization has become a major player in most data centers and cloud computing environments. While many schools currently teach students how to use virtualization as a tool when working with other software environments, there are a number of additional virtualization topics that can help increase student employment opportunities in today’s virtualized data centers.  These virtualization topics include:

• hyperconvergence
  • clustering
  • high availability
  • load balancing
  • cloud computing
  • virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI).

Our Hands-on Virtual Computing book provides coverage for each of these topics using popular virtualization products such as Oracle VirtualBox, VMware vSphere, and Microsoft Hyper-V.