CCE Minneapolis
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.
Contributor
Hi, My Name Is . . .

Hi, everyone!

The upcoming Cengage Computing Experience (CCE) event in Minneapolis promises to be a great experience for everyone. The overarching theme is "Change is Certain." For those of us teaching computing nothing could be farther from the truth!

I'm excited to be participating in the CCE Minneapolis event on April 7. Since I'll have the opportunity to meet you there I'll jump in first with a little background on me via Q&A:

-"WHO ARE YOU?" I'm Mark Ciampa, and teach information systems in the Gordon Ford College of Business at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Kentucky. Prior to this I was an Associate Professor and served as the Director of Academic Computing at Volunteer State Community College in Gallatin, Tennessee for 20 years. This career path has let me see the best (and sometimes worst!) of both world, that of the community college and university. They are very much the same--and very much different!

-"WHAT ELSE DO YOU DO?" I'm also an author for Cengage Learning, going as far back as 1995. Anyone remember Novell Netware? That was one of the first book projects I worked on. And Microsoft FrontPage (yep, wrote a book about it, too). And here's one that is probably not sitting on your shelf: Microsoft PhotoDraw (what was that? Never mind, the software had a short life). But all that was the distant past. In more recent times I've worked on Security+ Guide to Network Security Fundamentals, CWNA Guide to Wireless LANs, Guide to Wireless Communications, Security Awareness: Applying Practical Security In Your World 5ed, and Networking BASICS. At last count I think it's been 24 books, all with Cengage or its predecessor. So I've got a long history going here.