on 12-06-2018 12:02 AM
I sometimes receive an email from our Cengage rep. or digital learning consultant/specialist (who helps with setting up the CNOW accounts for our faculty and also help manage the assignments) that include the names of students who have temporary licenses that are about to expire. But I don't get it always although I believe you can always request it. What I do is send an email to the entire class around Week 2 reminding them to check their licenses and convert to permanent ones, as needed, otherwise they may lose the work done. This usually works.
Also, as a side, I believe the work can be retrieved sometimes with the help of Cengage tech support even if a student's license expires but it's better to not let that happen.
11-29-2018 11:35 AM - edited 11-29-2018 11:36 AM
Depending on some of the apps you use, there may be a way! I use SAM in MindTap and we have a report that shows those with valid licenses and those with expired grace periods. Tell me what your MindTap ISBN is and I will load to my Dashboard and check it out!
on 11-29-2018 06:23 AM
I do not think there is a report for that. But I do know the help desk can tell you if you call in and perhaps run you a report. This is a great question and information faculty needs. We'll pass this request on.
on 12-07-2018 07:31 AM
Thanks for your comments and suggestions.
I use similar applications from another publisher. The class roster screen shows a comment below the name of students with temporary access with the date the corresponding license expire.
I would prefer to see this information without having to request it.
11-29-2018 05:12 PM - edited 11-29-2018 05:14 PM
Thanks for asking about this!
I wanted to add this note from the students' perspective. Here is the language that is shared with them regarding a trial for MindTap:
Free Trial: If you are unable to pay at the start of the semester you may choose to access MindTap until 11:59 PM on [date inserted] during your free trial. After the free trial ends you will be required to pay for access. Please note: At the end of the free trial period, your course access will be suspended until your payment has been made. All your scores and course activity will be saved and will be available to you after you pay for access.