How to Sign In
American Government and Politics Blog
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Thu Jul 18, 2019 | 01:51 PM
Immigration and asylum are again in the news as the Trump Administration altered the asylum request process.  The t...
0
7
0
Sat Jun 15, 2019 | 05:35 PM
A glimpse at this week’s news include: Russian hacking, Chinese spies stealing NSA hacking tools, and the registers at T...
1
86
0
Sat Jun 08, 2019 | 05:14 AM
The small town of Statesville, NC became the center of nationwide attention in May when they sued a local sporting compa...
0
174
0
Sun May 12, 2019 | 02:36 PM
As the song goes, “I’ve got the summer time blues”, or is it the summer school blues?  The semester ended and gradu...
0
133
0
Wed Apr 24, 2019 | 05:50 PM
Each morning the President of the United States is delivered a Daily Brief.  The brief began  with Harry S. Tr...
0
99
0
Wed Apr 03, 2019 | 05:59 PM
We began a unique honors experiment in Fall 2017.    Twenty students were admitted and given an in depth exper...
1
661
5
Wed Mar 27, 2019 | 06:40 PM
Recently, I had the pleasure of hearing Senior Justice Paul Newby of the North Carolina Supreme Court speak. He tours No...
1
137
0
Wed Mar 20, 2019 | 05:29 PM
Once upon a time, there was a student who argued that points could not be deducted from his inaccurate research paper be...
4
1420
12
Thu Mar 14, 2019 | 04:01 AM
Pictures are worth a thousand words and for years instructors have used political cartoons to highlight American sentime...
1
398
2
Thu Feb 28, 2019 | 05:20 PM
Current events discussions are difficult in class these days.  Students who would not have spoken out a few years a...
4
1024
7
Thu Feb 21, 2019 | 06:02 PM
Current events class discussions are riddled with landmines this semester.  Terms like “National Emergency Declarat...
0
167
0
Wed Feb 13, 2019 | 05:28 PM
Facing yet another shutdown and endless questions in class, it is time to research shutdowns.  Just the thought of ...
0
185
0
Thu Feb 07, 2019 | 04:31 PM
It all started this week with a family discussion about the Virginia Governor, a certain Supreme Court Justice and Yearb...
1
203
0
Thu Jan 31, 2019 | 04:43 PM
Balancing the budget sounds easy; a few cuts here , add a penny there.  Simply put, if you only have X number of do...
0
240
0
Wed Jan 23, 2019 | 05:41 PM
The questions started last week in class, so the State of the Union… do we have to? Can she do that? Does it have to be ...
2
216
0
Thu Jan 17, 2019 | 05:21 PM
Currently we are under 31 National Emergency Declarations, the most common being sanctions, export limits, and weapons p...
0
202
0
Thu Jan 10, 2019 | 04:19 AM
As the government began the shutdown process, questions immediately cropped up such as which agencies will close, what i...
0
182
0
Thu Jan 03, 2019 | 05:13 PM
Approximately 380,000 federal employees were furloughed before the Christmas holiday and most will receive their last pa...
0
290
0