DIY Dialog

V8 1986 JEEP WAGONEER TRANS PUMP SEAL REPLACEMENT

This question is answered

Looking for any tips to help me do this replacement I am replacing the trans pump rear seal on my 1986 jeep grand wagoneer it is 4x4 and a v8 i was told that if i did not have and broken pieces of my trans in the pan that this is the problem i was told that i have no pressure in the pump and that's why i my transmission is not engaging i am not a mechanic but i am not stupid i am an electrician and really savy when it comes to these kinds of things . i have two books but neither one really helps with this problem . any advice will be greatly appreciated . i am tackling this job myself because i own 2 wagoneers and cant afford to take m to the shop anymore with gas prices the way they are and the economy being what it is we have to cut back on everything and if i can do these repairs on my own it will help this is also going to turn into a restoration job  a little further down the road as you know jeeps will last forever if you take care and maintain them ...

WAGONEERDAD

JEEPS RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Verified Answer
  • The no start condition and the no park condition may just be a simple shifter linkage adjustment.

The neutral safety switch is to the right of the bell crank, does this look familiar? This type of switch is not adjustable and if failure occurs it must be replaced. If the shifter linkage is not properly adjusted this would cause both of your problems. Use caution when loosening the lock-nut. Use penetrating oil to help with the removal. Follow the instructions below.

(Except 30rh/32rh, 42re/44re and Aw4 Models)
    1. Raise and support the truck on jackstands.

2. Loosen the shift rod trunnion locknuts.

3. Remove the lockpin retaining the shift rod trunnion to the bellcrank and disengage the trunnion and shift rod from the bellcrank.